Reading: Glitter in the Blood: A Poet’s Manifesto for Better, Braver Writing

“It is a central belief of mine that how you do anything is how you do everything. I think some yogi high on Topanga Canyon oxygen said that to me once. It stuck. It rearranged me.”

Nettifee, Mindy (2014-04-22). Glitter in the Blood: A Poet’s Manifesto for Better, Braver Writing (Kindle Locations 42-44).  . Kindle Edition.

glitterintheblood

Every other week or so I get a bug up my butt and start looking for books to improve my writing. Sometimes I find something I really want to read, and sometimes I don’t. I think this goes hand in hand with my thoughts that there’s always something a person can do better, and there’s absolutely no shame in that. I haven’t gotten too deeply into the book yet, but this quote in the Foreward leapt out at me and rang a gong in my head. Yes, there’s something to the tone of a day and a life. How you do laundry says something about how your entire life is organized, for example. (I throw my socks, unmatched, in a basket, and that’s how a lot of the little details of my day go. They’re just sort of randomly tossed in.) It’s actually something I’ve been meaning to take in hand for a while, but I’ve always lived in organized chaos, though it drives my partner nuts. I’m more functional that way. But am I? I don’t know.

I’ve been promising my partner to give organization a try, so maybe I’ll get some baskets for the junk mail or something. A shoe organizer? Actually go through my mountain of books? I’m thinking he wants something a little deeper though. I think he has his eye on a label maker. The horror.

I’m looking forward to reading this book because I would like to hone my ability to pain vivid pictures with words, and really make my books pop. That’s what my main goal is every day. I want everyone to be able to see in their head what is going on in mine when I’m telling a story.

I’m working on an action scene today, so I’m especially aware of what that means. Usually these sessions break down into stick figure art and graph paper maps.

Well, those are my goals this week: Organize and read this book. Oh, and also write. That’s always on the list too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Stories, What I'm Reading

Leave a Reply

