Friday Five Challenge

I decided to do the Friday Five Challenge because it seemed like an interesting exercise as a writer. If you don’t know what that is you can find a quick rundown here. Basically, in five minutes or less you go to an online book supplier, pick a category, and browse book covers until one appeals to you. Then look at the blurb and a few comments and decide if you’d pass or buy. Then post it on twitter at #FridayFiveChallenge. Eventually, what this should do for you, is help you to notice what does and doesn’t make for good copy on a blurb, ect.

I chose the gay fiction category on Amazon. The book I landed on was His True Nature.  I stopped there because I liked the look of the guy on the cover (he reminded me of Mark Ruffalo), it wasn’t cluttered, and the simple nature along with the “guy next door” man on the cover made me stop. The blurb is short and sweet, which was okay in and of itself. I ultimately decided PASS because the “book” was really a 40 page novelette, which drives me nuts. I don’t mind serials, but I prefer to wait until they’re all out (YOU KNOW…a book) and then buy them all at once. I don’t like the cliff hangers. I would rather have an honest to god book. So, in the end, it wasn’t anything the author did or didn’t do-the cover was appealing, the blurb succinct but well written, but the product wasn’t quite what I thought it would be. Had I not been paying attention I would have been very irritated once I got the file open. Even though the novelette was free it wasn’t worth my time investment, at least, when compared to all of the other things I could be reading.

Pass


Pick up a copy of Threefold Love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Free Fiction, Free Gay Fiction, Friday Five Challenge, m/m, Personal Stories

Leave a Reply

