Friday Five Challenge–Category Gay Romance, Angst

Happy Friday!

I haven’t done a Friday Five Challenge in a while (mostly because I’ve had so many books in my que it seemed ridiculous to be perusing more), but here I am, back in the game!

What is the Friday Five Challenge? Let me give you a brief refresher (or first time explanation if you’re completely unfamiliar with it). The quick and dirty run down: In five minutes or less go to an online book supplier, pick a category (any category!), and browse book covers until one appeals to you. Look at the blurb and a few comments and decide if you’d pass or buy. Then post it on twitter at #FridayFiveChallenge. Eventually, what this should do for you, is help you to notice what does and doesn’t make for good copy on a blurb, ect. Also, it’s pretty entertaining.

I just finished reviewing Finding Shelter this morning, which left the heavy taste of angst on my mental palette, so I decided to search “male romance, angst” on Amazon. (I usually go to Amazon. I’m enamored with the One Click.)

So, I was in a rush this morning apparently, and I browsed for all of three seconds before I clicked on the cover with this pretty man. He’s sooo prettiful.

Slave

I’m not really sure what it was about this cover that drew me in. I’m not the hugest fan of blond men (which is strange because I consistently seem to be writing them in my own work). I think it was just the overall surety I had with this title, SLAVE, that there were sure to be some kinky dominance and submission bedroom antics. And, there’s something about the man on the cover that reminds me of the Lothlórien elves from the Lord of the Rings movies. I know it’s likely NOT elf smut…but…(Yes! Please!) When I clicked over I read the blurb.

At twenty-seven, Tamelik has been a slave more than half his life, having witnessed his family being murdered in front of him when he was just a child. Naturally submissive, although with a petulant streak, he can’t help but fall in love with the master who treats him kindly.

Tam’s dreams come true when his mistress walks out, leaving her husband behind. For six glorious months, he and his master get to be together. Then Tam is ordered to purchase another slave.

He wants to hate Kai for being unruly and ungrateful. For being of the same race as the men who murdered his family. For being his eventual replacement in their master’s bed. But it’s hard to hate a man who cries himself to sleep, flinches at the slightest touch, and blushes beautifully when he’s kissed.

Seducing Kai has suddenly become more challenge than chore, and with his master’s encouragement, Tam finds himself falling for his new companion. Except… nobody can be in love with two people at once, can they?

64,000 words.

I’m left to guess that Tam’s family being murdered led to his enslavement, the blurb doesn’t honestly make that clear. I like seduction. I like enslavement stories that are based in fantasy. I was hooked. I am a fantasy geek from way back. I got ansty and clicked

buy

before I even bothered to read the reviews. After I did it I groaned because I wasn’t following the rules of the Friday Five Challenge so much as making random, smutty impulse buys. I went back through and read the reviews, which honestly, weren’t that startling and might have made me lean more toward a pass.

However, I am in the mood for some smutty fantasy smut, so it hooked me. Seems like this is a “gateway” book though. As the first in a series that reviewers say get better I’m probably going to get sucked into buying the others. We’ll see.

Have a great day guys! Happy book hunting!


Check out my book The Shape of Honey. It’s available for Pre-Order on Amazon and Dreamspinner Press.

TheShapeofHoneycoverart

Yulian Volkov is an entrepreneur and lone werewolf who hates the city. At a pack meeting, he learns the only member he’s attracted to is being expelled for crimes unspecified. Yulian strikes a deal with the pack leader to allow Rolly Witten to live on his farm and work in his Meadery. Although enjoying handsome Rolly’s company, Yulian must tread carefully, since Rolly doesn’t trust him and the pack doesn’t acknowledge homosexuality exists. Meanwhile, Yulian stealthily courts Rolly by teaching him the value of his wolf side.

Rolly, who’s known he was gay since he was a teen, has accepted a life of solitude—and a life of crime. He has no desire to relocate. Yet Yulian’s trust in his ability to do honest work builds his confidence. As life is settling well for them, Rolly learns a friend from his old pack had a crush on him, and he’s torn between returning his friend’s feelings or pursuing the budding relationship with Yulian. But that’s not their worst problem. Assassins are trying to take out both wolves, and they need to figure out who wants them dead or all the trust and happiness they’re building together won’t matter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Five Challenge

Leave a Reply

