Filling in the Cracks: NaNoWriMo–Day 2

November 2nd, 2015

NaNoWriMo: Day 2

NaNoday2pic

I’m writing this post up late in the day because…well, I’ve committed the cardinal sin of NaNoWriMo…procrastination.

I haven’t started yet. It’s almost the end of day two. By my self imposed goals and deadlines I’m already 12k words in the hole. (I am a tad neurotic. I don’t know that I’ve ever consistently written 6 thousand words a day for more than a three day stretch, but I swore I would do it every day for 30 days. HAHAHAHAHA…We’re all mad here.)

I have all the excuses. It was important family stuff that got in the way. I had appointments I had to keep. Blah, blah, blah…I would say, the best thing to do for yourself during NaNoWriMo is to sketch out your writing time and guard it like a ravenous wolf guards the last slice of bacon. Teeth bared. Hackles raised.

Ready to go for blood.

But, what if you aren’t a procrastinator? What if you’ve been working on your stuff like a good little NaNo-er, but just aren’t hitting your word count? Here’s where I’m going to recommend something that seems entirely counter to the NaNo idea of writing forward, but it’s not. Not really anyway.

Look for the cracks in your writing.

“What the hell is that?” asks an anonymous man in the back row.

maninbackrow

Good question, sir.

Read over what you’ve written so far today. You are not editing. *pulls out the bullhorn* YOU ARE NOT EDITING.

What you are doing is looking for places where you can add to what you have written. Add in some body language. A conversation. Take a scene sketch where you might have simply told the audience what is happening and actually expand it out into its own scene. Write more descriptive scenery. Write about the way someone’s eyes sparkle.

It’s all fair game

When I’m writing in a notebook I will do this at the end of what I guesstimate to be a chapter. I will find a “crack” area and put a number by it, flip to the next clean sheet of paper, put that number on the first line, and write until I’ve written whatever I wanted to expand. Might be a sentence, might be five pages. It works wonders for fleshing out a story.

So, go forth and find some cracks in your work, and see if you can fill them with words.

Happy NaNoing!

Ki


Check out my book The Shape of Honey! M/M Werewolf Romance

ShapeofHoney[The]

Available on Amazon and at other retailers.

Yulian Volkov is an entrepreneur and lone werewolf who hates the city. At a pack meeting, he learns the only member he’s attracted to is being expelled for crimes unspecified. Yulian strikes a deal with the pack leader to allow Rolly Witten to live on his farm and work in his Meadery. Although enjoying handsome Rolly’s company, Yulian must tread carefully, since Rolly doesn’t trust him and the pack doesn’t acknowledge homosexuality exists. Meanwhile, Yulian stealthily courts Rolly by teaching him the value of his wolf side.

Rolly, who’s known he was gay since he was a teen, has accepted a life of solitude—and a life of crime. He has no desire to relocate. Yet Yulian’s trust in his ability to do honest work builds his confidence. As life is settling well for them, Rolly learns a friend from his old pack had a crush on him, and he’s torn between returning his friend’s feelings or pursuing the budding relationship with Yulian. But that’s not their worst problem. Assassins are trying to take out both wolves, and they need to figure out who wants them dead or all the trust and happiness they’re building together won’t matter.

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, Personal Stories

Leave a Reply

