Atmosphere: NaNoWriMo–Day 5

November 5th, 2015

NaNoWriMo: Day 5

NaNoday5pic

Happy Guy Fawkes day to those who celebrate!

So, I totally forgot to post anything for NaNoWriMo yesterday. I was too busy patting myself on the back for getting my word count in and screwed up.

fail

Anyway, today I thought I’d talk about atmosphere. Not in your story, but where you write. I’ve found there are some places far more conducive for me to write in than others. For example, I don’t get much done in the library. I’m just not comfortable there and I have a serious tendency to people watch. (A lot of “unusual” individuals wander through the library, at least our big downtown library where The Brig Niagara has it’s portage.) Also, the library is far too quiet for me to concentrate. And old ladies wander around scratching and talking about their bed bugs.

I wish I weren’t serious.

So, no library.

I have a friend who is kind enough to let me work at her house while she’s at work. She has a dog and a cat that provide a little activity. Some days that’s just what I need and I go write there, taking over her kitchen table. I can’t work at my house because my husband and kids would never leave me alone. Maybe if I hid in the basement and they thought I wasn’t there I could do it. But some days, being alone is just not what I want. Some days I want to be surrounded by people I don’t have to talk to. It’s nice just to know others are alive and doing things on the planet.

I would say my happiest spot to work is probably, cliché enough, Starbucks. I find myself a corner table and set up shop. Of course, when you’re in a café the one downside is that you have to buy drinks. I try to make sure that I buy something every couple of hours so I’m not just taking up space, but Starbucks, being a chain, doesn’t make me feel guilty for taking up a table the way it would in one of my smaller, local cafes. I actually have another café I prefer to sit in and work, but it’s always busy and I hate eating up a table for six hours. There are days where I’ll start at my friend’s house then move to one of the smaller cafes. Then move somewhere else. (There’s a local chocolate company that has a café, and I adore it, but once again I hate to sit there for hours on end taking up space. Their hot chocolates are made with real, melted chocolate, and I think as close as you can get to Heaven on Earth.)

It might seem weird that I do this, bounce around my city as I write, but I actually think it helps me to be more productive. If I’m not happy with the spot I’m writing in I can’t ever really get comfortable or get into what I’m writing. My word counts suffer.

So, take a good look around yourself. Are you comfortable when you write? Too hot or too cold? Can you get a snack/meal if you need one? Put your feet up? Type at the computer without your back hurting? All of these ergonomic and environmental factors can put a serious downer on your writing if they chip away at your attention and patience, so experiment! Get comfortable! Chase that word dragon!

Happy NaNo-ing!

Ki Brightly


Check out my newest book, The Shape of Honey!

ShapeofHoney[The]

Available on Amazon , Dreamspinner Press, and other retailers.

Yulian Volkov is an entrepreneur and lone werewolf who hates the city. At a pack meeting, he learns the only member he’s attracted to is being expelled for crimes unspecified. Yulian strikes a deal with the pack leader to allow Rolly Witten to live on his farm and work in his Meadery. Although enjoying handsome Rolly’s company, Yulian must tread carefully, since Rolly doesn’t trust him and the pack doesn’t acknowledge homosexuality exists. Meanwhile, Yulian stealthily courts Rolly by teaching him the value of his wolf side.

Rolly, who’s known he was gay since he was a teen, has accepted a life of solitude—and a life of crime. He has no desire to relocate. Yet Yulian’s trust in his ability to do honest work builds his confidence. As life is settling well for them, Rolly learns a friend from his old pack had a crush on him, and he’s torn between returning his friend’s feelings or pursuing the budding relationship with Yulian. But that’s not their worst problem. Assassins are trying to take out both wolves, and they need to figure out who wants them dead or all the trust and happiness they’re building together won’t matter.

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo 2015

Leave a Reply

