Friday Five Challenge: Hurt/Comfort

Happy Friday!

I just finished a book last night, so I decided to do a Friday Five Challenge today to sort out my new one. (Once again ignoring my towering TBR pile, because who doesn’t need another book?) I always like the challenge. It hurts so good.

What is the Friday Five Challenge? Let me give you a brief refresher (or first time explanation if you’re completely unfamiliar with it). The quick and dirty run down: In five minutes or less you go to an online book supplier, pick a category, and browse book covers until one appeals to you. Then look at the blurb and a few comments and decide if you’d pass or buy. Then post it on twitter at #FridayFiveChallenge. Eventually, what this should do for you, is help you to notice what does and doesn’t make for good copy on a blurb, ect. Also, it’s pretty entertaining.

The online retailer I decided to use, even though I know I should be going to publisher’s websites, was Amazon, for I am lazy and the one click has a special allure. I am in an angsty mood today after reading Outing the Quarterback, so I didn’t mess around. I searched: “gay romance” “abuse”. Of course, a plethora of books popped up, some laughable, and some quite on target.

I looked at

City Lights

Caleb is a long way from home and running low on hope. Trapped by his mistakes and the abusive hand of his pimp he dreams of making his escape with Jack, a fellow prostitute. He knows each day lessens their odds of getting back home and away from the things destroying them.
Evan is a police officer protecting the same streets that have damned Caleb.
When their paths continue to cross Caleb finds himself slipping from his carefully sorted plans, but he quickly realizes that even with the brightest of lights things may not be as they appear.

It pulled me in, and I have to admit I might have bought this one outright, except that I am writing a book with a hustler as a main character at the moment and avoiding all stories with them if possible. So, I had to

PassThe next title I was seriously drawn to was

TheOmegaIntheattic.jpgI snickered to myself. For those of you not familiar the Alpha/Omega trope is rampant in the fandoms. Of course I’ve never partaken. *cough* Anyway, I stopped mostly because I expected it to be completely giggle worthy, but then I was sucked in by the blurb. I almost bought it.

Here’s the blurb:

You can’t fight with biology…

Jamie’s life has been bare and bleak and oh, so alone. His disapproving parents locked him in the attic when he first presented as an omega, and he’s been there ever since.

But that doesn’t mean you can’t just fight…

Jamie thinks his barren existence might just go on forever – until he looks out the window and sees Ewan, his parent’s new landscaper. Ewan is an alpha. Jamie’s alpha.

They both feel the pull to one another, that overwhelming need to claim and possess. But can Jamie learn to trust Ewan enough to break free from his prison?

Does Jamie even have a choice?

The Omega in the Attic was previously published as Hidden Omega. It has been entirely rewritten and expanded for it’s publication with LoveLight Press.

That bit at the bottom about the rewrite? That actually was what made me decide to

PassI was already leery of buying it because of what it is, but that, more than anything, made me think it was a story with the serial numbers scrubbed off. Maybe it isn’t, but I just wasn’t willing to take the dive today. Plus…these types of stories are notoriously poorly written, often self published, often have bad editing. I’m not saying THIS ONE does, but it was enough to give me pause. I honestly might come back to this some other day, but today is not that day!

I perused on.

Midway down page two of the amazon search a title, not so much a cover, grabbed me.

violated

Nothing screams a hardcore angst read like “Violated”. Of course, the book is about a male rape victim who saw his entire life crumble because of the attack.

Derek Sawyer thinks he has it all—a high-salaried position, a boyfriend, a dog, even a new cabin on the lake—until a business trip with his manager and best friend, Victor, shatters his world.

One night of drunken horsing around in their hotel room leads to the most intensely personal violation Derek has ever endured. As if the humiliation of working under his attacker every day isn’t enough, Victor reports Derek for sexual harassment. Now he’s without a job, without a boyfriend, and the mortgage on the cabin is due.

Officer Russ Thomas has worked with rape victims before, and it doesn’t take him long to sort out the truth in Derek’s tale. With his support, Derek finally reports the crime, months after it happened. But restraining orders and lawyers further Victor’s anger toward him, and even though a relationship develops between Derek and the policeman, Russ can’t be there to protect him all the time.

I hemmed and hawed around while my five minutes slipped away. I felt a guilty little voyeuristic pang choosing a book about a rape. I’ve had some not so great encounters in my past, so I was also trying to decide whether or not it would be worth it to actually potentially put myself in a hole to read this book. Seconds ticked by. I could look for another book. Finally, I check the publisher, something I’ve been doing more and more when choosing books to verify the potential quality of a read, saw it was Dreamspinner Press, and I was sold. I decided to

buy

On this Friday Five Challenge it was the Title, not the Cover that hooked me, so lesson? Never underestimate the importance of a solid title.

I wasn’t honestly sure I would buy anything today. I’ve read so many gay romances lately that it’s starting to take something really special to snag my attention. I’ll let you all know how this one turns out sometime next week!

With these angst reads it can go one of two ways. I’ll either love it or cry my way through it while calling myself an idiot, but god knows I won’t put the book down.

Happy reading!


 

Pick up my newest release, The Shape of Honey!

ShapeofHoney[The]

Available at Amazon , Dreamspinner Press, and other retailers.

Yulian Volkov is an entrepreneur and lone werewolf who hates the city. At a pack meeting, he learns the only member he’s attracted to is being expelled for crimes unspecified. Yulian strikes a deal with the pack leader to allow Rolly Witten to live on his farm and work in his Meadery. Although enjoying handsome Rolly’s company, Yulian must tread carefully, since Rolly doesn’t trust him and the pack doesn’t acknowledge homosexuality exists. Meanwhile, Yulian stealthily courts Rolly by teaching him the value of his wolf side.

Rolly, who’s known he was gay since he was a teen, has accepted a life of solitude—and a life of crime. He has no desire to relocate. Yet Yulian’s trust in his ability to do honest work builds his confidence. As life is settling well for them, Rolly learns a friend from his old pack had a crush on him, and he’s torn between returning his friend’s feelings or pursuing the budding relationship with Yulian. But that’s not their worst problem. Assassins are trying to take out both wolves, and they need to figure out who wants them dead or all the trust and happiness they’re building together won’t matter.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Friday Five Challenge, Uncategorized

One response to “Friday Five Challenge: Hurt/Comfort

  1. Pingback: Friday Book Review: Jamie Fessenden’s Violated | The Story Struggle and Beyond

Leave a Reply

