Dirk Tales, The Blog Tour!

that-darn-muse

Peruse a few pages of the book here.

Dirk Tales, The Book

Dirk Tales, The Book includes previously released Misadventures of Doc & Dirk volumes, available now for the first time in paperback, an additional episode, and more!

He’s a middle-aged, newly single, gay photographer starting life over. Along comes a freshly out nineteen-year-old, irreverent free spirit who wants to be his apprentice. Mismatched by more than a generation, what could possibly go wrong? Everything! And it’s AWESOME!

Dirk’s First Time: Every gay boy has his first experience. Usually it’s a memorable, exciting personal time of discovery and intimacy between two young people. But two comic book characters? Is it horseplay or Cosplay?

The Boy At The Gym: First impressions can be deceiving. Sometimes that boy in the baggy clothes, talking to himself in the gym isn’t as shy as he appears. Sometimes there’s a deviant imp lurking beneath that freckled mask of innocence. Beware the Trojan Nerd!

A “Muse” ing: Most authors struggle with the voices or “muses” in their head when writing. Tuning that voice out becomes a little more challenging when your muse is a real-life nineteen-year-old who inhales espresso and turns out ideas at light speed. Danger Will Robinson!

Daddy and The Rent Boy: In sales, advertising is half the battle. That can become hazardous when you’re in the company of an irreverent walking billboard.

Sex Dolls and Bad Dates: We’ve all had one of those dates where we think we’ve bitten off more than we can chew. The trick to know is Bite or Flight?

Dirk’s Quirks: Everyone has idiosyncrasies; that’s what makes us interesting. If you’re lucky, you get a heaping helping and can share them with everyone.

Make it Naked: Teaching a nineteen-year-old walking hormone photography apprentice to shoot nudes is more than an adventure… It’s a human obstacle course.

Welcome to Dirk Tales, The Blog Tour!

To those of you who know me, normally when I do this type of thing I do a review, but this month bonked me over the head hard first with NaNoWriMo, then with the United States Presidential elections (I’m still stunned), and finally with the holidays. So…no review from me today, but I am thinking of reviving my weekly reviews, so I am, tentatively, slating this in for my first review of December. Check back!

I am a chronic Amazon review checker, and so far all the reviews for this book are five stars. From what I understand Dirk Tales The Book is a compilation of Dan Skinner’s previous work with these characters including new content.

Go forth and check out this book! Also, don’t forget to register in the rafflecopter for a chance at a signed copy of the book. There are five copies up for grabs, so your chances are…well, better than if there were only one!

Click Here For A Chance to Win a Signed Copy of Dirk Tales The Book.

 

Here are a few words from Dan about the book.

A wonderful thing happened to me in the midst of an unexpected and very abrupt life change. In the middle of the trauma and turmoil of readjustment, I met a young man, just nineteen years old, who made me do something I hadn’t done in a long while–smile. And laugh. He’s a prankster, a thinker, a minor whirlwind when he enters a room, but always a refreshing breeze afterwards. His name is Dirk. He began apprenticing with me to learn photography. He became my friend and confidante. And then, without warning, something even more delightful. An honest-to-goodness muse.

 

Without thinking, I made notes of what we were doing on my various social media, Facebook and Twitter. And something even more remarkable happened. Our tiny little stories of the day, sometimes only a few sentences long, made other people smile. Neither one of us thought anything about it because we’d developed to a point in our relationship that we were used to each other’s idiosyncrasies. He was younger and always had a wisecrack to counter anything I said that he thought was too serious. If it amused me, I posted it. There was no rhyme or reason to it. Sometimes it was simply the only thing I had to talk about from my day.

 

The notes I began to get from people took me completely by surprise. If they were having a bad day, they came looking for our posts to find a smile. People began thanking us for being “A bright spot in the day.” This had never happened to either one of us before. But we decided if anything humorous was exchanged between us, we’d share it. As Dirk said, if nothing else goes right in the day except we made someone smile, that was right enough for him.

 

More people came every day looking for a little peek into the lives of two ordinary people who shared a friendship. Neither one of us could have predicted what would happen. The mail I was getting were the most precious and beautiful things I’d ever read. We didn’t think we were doing much of anything at all by sharing these little anecdotes, but the response told a different story. People love to hear about the funny things friends do.

 

“You should write a book,” everyone was saying. I didn’t think that was possible, because to me, books have a beginning, middle and end. Books have a plot. We were just living our lives day to day. That was, until one day Dirk’s mom, while listening to the two of us banter, interjected with, “I don’t know which to watch. An episode of Seinfeld or you two. You’re like a couple of mismatched comedians. You… and thatthat,” she pointed at her son, “That Darn Muse of yours…!”

 

Dirk looked at me and I at him. And we both knew exactly what would be fun to do. Make people smile.

 

Buy Links

Amazon

Smashwords

 

 

 

clip-art-cameraDan Skinner

 

I’m a single gay man living in the Midwest. I write because I consider myself to be an old-fashioned storyteller. I’ve been a photographer for half my life, specializing in male romance cover art. My dream is to one day live on the beach with my dog and continue to tell tales that inspire and entertain.

 

Contact Dan on Facebook, Twitter, DeviantArt, and Tumblr (NSFW)

 

social-media

Social Media Links

That Darn Muse Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Tumbler

Deviant Art

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dirk Tales, The Blog Tour!

  1. many many thanx!! smooches
    dan skinner… and the other “D”

    Like

Leave a Reply

