Sweet Dreams by Brooke Edwards (Give Away!)

sweetdreamsbanner

Hello Everyone!

Today I have Brooke Edwards here to talk about her newest novella, Sweet Dreams. I have read it and it is a nice, short piece for those rainy afternoons where you want something fun, but maybe don’t want to start an epic length novel.  A word of caution, perhaps don’t read it when you are hungry. (Or, like I did, take a break and make a nice snack to go with it.)  

Happy Reading!

kibrightly

Sweet Dreams: The Baker and the Movie Star

Thanks for having me to visit and talk about my new short story! I’d been toying with the idea of self-publishing something for a while and when I wrapped this little piece up and it ended up with nowhere to go, I decided it deserved to head out into the world. Dane and Benji, my MCs, were such fun characters to write and a fluffy love story was such a nice change from the angst that dominated my last novella.

 

For such a short, happy piece, it wasn’t completely without emotional significance. I dedicated it to a lovely lady, V, who came into my life at a really low point. I was struggling with health issues that doctor after doctor just kept telling me were all in my head and everything was crumbling around me as a result. Much like Cara does with Benji, she took me under her wing and opened up a whole new world. Cakes and desserts were nothing new, but the possibilities she showed me absolutely blew my mind. With some spare time up my sleeve, a lot of guidance and SO many hours of practice and patience, I grew my own cake-decorating wings. Sadly, V’s own health issues took a turn for the worst a couple of years back and she needed to stop teaching and creating as it was taking too much of a toll on her physically. Although it’s been a long time since we’ve been in a studio together with buttercream and fondant, I still consider her my guardian angel and fairy godmother in a lot of ways. I can’t give V enough credit for what she did for me and my emotional well-being during that time. I bought her a lot of magnets during my overseas trip last year but they don’t even come close to compensating!

 

A lot of Benji’s relationship with Cara came from everything that V represented for me. The loss of his grandmother and the disruption of his life, especially being a teenager, left him drifting. She helped smooth out those jagged edges that were left behind, and led him to a new passion that gave him purpose, one that honoured the memory of his grandmother too. When Cara moved on too, although Benji had his family and a reason to get out of bed every morning, he lacked any real fire or excitement. He was just plodding along before Dane came crashing through the door and brought Benji’s predictable routine to a sudden, explosive halt. The disparity between their lifestyles was such a huge thing that I spent a long time staring at the screen saying “Are you sure this is a thing that’s going to work? The baker and the movie star?” Luckily, the rational part of me never really gets much playtime so Dane’s insistence that YES, he definitely wanted to pursue the cute baker who saved him from the rabid fans, won over. He wanted to do it in a way that didn’t give said cute baker any time or opportunity to run away from all the complicated tangles that dating an A-list celebrity could bring about, too. Benji got swept up in his thrall, pushed along by that tiny voice inside of him that was so hungry for adventure and change. A combination of Cara and his grandmother, I think that voice just wasn’t taking no for an answer.

 

I’m not going to even pretend to say that their story ends when I ended Sweet Dreams because I’m pretty sure there are some obstacles they’re going to have to get through before that happily ever after comes along, but I liked the hopefulness they both had after winning Sienna’s grudging approval and it felt like a good place to end things for now. Much as this feels like a good place to end my rambling. Drop your email addresses and your preferred reading format below if you’re interested in a free copy of Sweet Dreams, Kiyle and I will select a winner after 24 hours!

 

Wheretobuyimage

Sweet Dreams is available on Amazon and through KU here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XSJDGDQ?ref_=pe_2427780_160035660 and you can catch me online in the following places: Facebook at www.facebook.com/brookeedwardsauthor

Website: www.brookeedwardsauthor.com Twitter: @brookeedwardsau Instagram: @brookeedwardsauthor

Or email me at brookeedwardsauthor@gmail.com too!

 


After you read Sweet Dreams check out my newest book Trust Trade!

trusttradefs_v1Life hasn’t been good to Jeb Birchman. When he attempted to escape his abusive, zealot father, he found himself on the streets, making a living the only way he knew how, the victim of more violent men—one of whom orchestrates a series of vicious attacks that leave Jeb deaf. Now that he’s aged beyond his latest client’s interest, Jeb knows he needs to escape his risky lifestyle before it’s too late. Seeing one last chance for himself, he earns a GED and enrolls in college.

Freddy Williams enjoys a life that couldn’t be more different from what Jeb has survived. He loves sports, being a personal trainer, and hanging out with friends. The son of deaf parents, Freddy is an outspoken advocate of the Deaf community and works as an interpreter at his college. When he meets Jeb at the bookstore, he’s struck by how attractive he is, and as they get to know each other, he finds Jeb’s good heart just as appealing. By the time he learns of Jeb’s past, it’s only a few steps behind them, and Freddy must make a choice between school and his familiar routine and protecting the man he’s falling in love with.

See a sample of Trust Trade here.

Purchase Links

Amazon

Dreamspinner Press

9 Comments

Filed under book release, Brooke Edwards, Coming Soon, Contest, m/m

9 responses to “Sweet Dreams by Brooke Edwards (Give Away!)

  1. Samantha Rozyczko

    This sounds really good. Thanks for the chance to win it. Also congratulations on the new release tomorrow. Mobi
    Samantharozyczko@gmail.com

    Like

  2. PDF format
    ShirleyAnn(at)speakman40(dot)freeserve(dot)co(dot)uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

